Redirection and Reorganization

So I’ve been doing some thinking about this blog and I’ve come to the decision that, given that this is called “Overcrowded Bookshelves,” I don’t talk a lot about the books on my shelves.

On another note, I find myself in need of some mental stimulation in the form of: writing essays. Believe it or not, I think I miss writing essays. The difference between writing essays for school and writing essays for myself, apart from them not being officially graded, is that I can choose the subject material. I will not be limited to Neo-Victorian poetry or Shakespearean sonnets or, somebody help me, Postmodern pre-Depression-era novels. Instead, I can write about something cool like mental disorders in Neon Genesis Evangelion and/or folk epic tropes in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. This leads me to the following announcement:

For the next several months, the posts on this blog will be about the various media and titles that can be found on my shelves: books, ebooks, movies, video games, television shows, and graphic novels (foreign and domestic). This is my blog and I can do what I will with it.

“I’m aware that I’m mixing my metaphors horribly . . . But I don’t care. It’s my story and I get to make the rules.”
-Chime, Franny Billinsley

I hold the right to drop lame jokes and long stories with puny punchlines at random intervals, as well as post anything else I feel like on a day that is not Saturday. I say this so you’re not blindsided by a lame literary joke right after I pop some deep thoughts about Assassin’s Creed, or I’ve suddenly interviewed/written an article about a certain topic that only vaguely relates to literary analysis. Stuffy essays can only go so far, right?

In the meantime, I will also be fussing with the blog’s appearance until it’s something that I like and can be shown to an employer. This means that I will be fussing with the tagging and category systems as well. I might also play around with the archives, so if posts randomly disappear, I already know they’re gone. Don’t worry about it.

Any suggestions for the look or possible future essays? Let me know in the comments!

Comment

