NaNoWriMo!

It’s November! Meaning it’s National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo)! Yaay!

NaNoWriMo is an underground event in which participants write 50,000 words of a novel in the month of November. Yes, that is a lot of words. It amounts to about 1,667 words in a day, which is more difficult to push out than you probably realize, especially when it’s all the same story. Trust me, you get about halfway through and your brain starts to crumble and you think strange things like “What do you mean it’s only the 15th? I’m only supposed to be halfway through now??” You get the point where December rolls around and you just sit on your couch wondering what you did with your life before NaNoWriMo.

Put this on top of Holiday shopping and you have a recipe for insanity.

This year, I’m pseudo-participating in NaNoWriMo. I’m writing something every day, but my own rules differ from the actual NaNoWriMo rules, which I think of more like guidelines. The reason I have a pseudo-NaNo is because I have a few freelancing jobs I have to give my attention to. And then there’s the whole “Someone’s gotta do the dishes and it ain’t gonna be the ghost on account of him not being corporal.” So here are my guidelines for my pseudo-NaNo:

1. Each day will require 1,000 words of creative fiction of any kind from any story. The words must be new, and they must be creative and not a journal entry.

2. If I write more than the allotted 1,000 words per day, the excess words cannot be carried over to the next day. I will have to write a new 1,000 words every day until the end of the month.

3. This exercise will cease to continue as of 1 December 2012 or until I deem otherwise beyond that date, whichever comes last.

4. The start and end dates are not final and can be modified per my whim so long as I do not skip a date within the month of November.

5. The words written must be in this document on Google Drive and cannot be in a separate word processor document unless otherwise copied and pasted into said other word processor document. This is to track my progress.

Readers: you are free to participate in my pseudo-NaNoWriMo as well! Let me know if you are in the comments. And we can keep each other motivated and going and yell at each other if we miss a day of writing.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have about 400 more words to write for today.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo!

  1. Pingback: November PAD 2012 – Day 1 | Two Voices, One Song

Comment

